top of page

Applying Hair Extensions To Thin/Fine Hair


Long, thick hair is a goal that many people have and I'm sure the majority of those people have fine, thin and limp hair like myself! Of course hair extensions are the simple answer to our problems but sometimes it is not as easy as clipping in hair and away you go. Wefts and clips are often bulky which make them visible through our lack luster hair - something we definitely don't want! Having noticeable extensions certainly does nothing for the natural look and makes me feel less confident and self-conscious.


Follow my simple steps below to achieve a full head of thick hair that blends seamlessly and looks like your natural hair!


STEP 1



My first big tip is to clip in your first weft as low down in the back of your head as you can. Most people section their first piece above their ear but I section halfway between the nape of my neck and the top of my ear. Starting your sections as low as you can will help you greatly as you clip in the rest of the wefts - trust me!


I start by using a three clip weft which is 6" wide and I place in the centre of my head. I also find it helpful to straighten/curl each section as I'm working through.


STEP 2


My section is taken directly above my ear. I now have two wefts clipped in where other people only have one! Once again I use a 6", three clip wefts which I place in the centre of my head. Use the centre clip as a guide and clip that in first so you know the weft is actually in the centre of your head.


STEP 3

Part your third section roughly one inch above your last section. For this section I use one of my largest sections so that it fits from ear to ear so I am using a 7", four clip weft.


STEP 4

This last section is by far the most important one for hiding those clips! The golden rule for applying extensions for people with thin/fine hair is never clip in your extensions higher than your eyebrows! Use the line of your eyebrows as a guide for your highest weft and don't go any higher.

It's also really important to make sure that your place some wefts closer to the side of your head to avoid thin sections. To do this I start with two, two clip wefts on either side of my head about one inch from the side of my face.


STEP 5

Staying on the same section as step four, I fill in the gap between the two wefts at the side of my head with two, one clip wefts. You could place more one clips in by moving them closer together but two works fine for me and the less clips, the better! Experiment with different sized wefts and placings to see what works best for you.


Finally, un-clip the rest of your hair and style as you wish! By now, all of your clips and wefts should be concealed and your hair will look thick, voluminous and natural! If some of those clips are still peeping through, experiment with different placing and you'll quickly find your effortless hair extension routine.

If you want to see a video tutorial of my 'HOW TO: Applying Hair To Thin/Fine Hair', click on the video below and subscribe to my YouTube channel for more videos by clicking on that red button below!


Meg xoxo


bottom of page